Bestselling Author Delilah Devlin
HomeMeet Delilah
BookshelfBlogExtrasEditorial ServicesContactDelilah's Collections


Rosemary Morris: Regency Heroines Born on Different Day s of the Week
Thursday, December 13th, 2018

About Rosemary Morris

Every day, I spend eight hours or more writing, receiving and sending e-mails, composing blogs, etc.

While working, there is no one to metaphorically hold my hand and encourage me. From my first draft onwards, I write to the best of my ability. By the time I have completed several drafts, revised and edited my work, I know it inside out, upside down and back to front. That is a serious problem because I am too familiar with the text to find grammatical errors and other mistakes.

Members of the online critique group I have joined offer constructive criticism, so do members of a writers’ group which meets every Monday evening except for bank holidays

On manuscript evenings, I read approximately 2,000 words from the romantic historical novel I am writing and receive helpful feedback. Someone might point out a weak spot in the plot, an awkward phrase, repetition or something unnecessary for which I am very grateful. I reciprocate by giving my suggestions to other members’ articles, flash fiction, poetry, extracts from their novels, etc.

Apart from being a novelist, I enjoy time spent with family and friends, cooking delicious vegetarian meals, free from meat, fish and eggs, organic gardening, reading historical fiction and non-fiction, embroidery, knitting and patchwork.

Regency Heroines Born on Different Days of the Week

I wrote Sunday’s Child before I decided to write a series set in the Regency era about ladies born on different days of the week inspired by this well-known nursery rhyme:

Monday’s Child is fair of face.
Tuesday’s Child is full of grace.
Wednesday’s Child is full of woe.
Thursday’s Child has far to go
Friday’s Child is loving and giving.
Saturday’s Child works hard for a living.
But the child that is born on the Sabbath day
is bonny and blithe good and gay.


The first five novels, rich in historical detail, with happy ever after endings have been published by Books We Love, Inc.

It is unnecessary for each novel to be read in sequence. The heroines have their own unique stories which are not linked to a previous book the series, and themes which 21st century readers can identify with.

Sunday’s Child. Despite loss and past love, self-sacrifice, brutality and honour, Tarrant, who fought in the Napoleonic wars, and Georgianne, whose father and brothers died in battle, seek their happy ever after ending.

Theme. Tarrant, suffering from post-traumatic stress syndrome, which had not been diagnosed in the early 19th century, struggles to overcome it.

Monday’s Child. Love, despair and renewed hope amid the gaiety and anxiety in Brussels before the Battle of Waterloo.

Theme. Helen, a talented artist, observes anxiety beneath the gaiety during the 100 days after Napoleon escaped from Elba. She captures the British ex-patriates mood on canvas and must deal with personal consequences after the Battle of Waterloo

Tuesday’s Child. Prejudice and pride demand Reverend Dominic Markham, an Earl’s younger son, marry a suitable lady, but he is spellbound by Harriet, whose birth is unequal to his.

Theme. Harriet is an impoverished widow, mother of a young son, the heir to a title. After she goes to live with her father-in- law she battles for control over her child.

Wednesday’s Child. Sensibility and sense are needed for Amelia Carstairs to accept her late grandmother’s choice of her guardian, the Earl of Saunton, to whom Amelia was previously betrothed.

Theme. Amelia inherits a fortune from her eccentric grandmother, whose loss she must come to terms with, but wealth cannot give her the happiness she craves.

Thursday’s Child. Impulsive Margaret needs common sense to check her thoughtless remarks which drive her towards Rochedale, a rake with a mysterious past.

Theme. By the end of the novel Margaret is a mature young lady capable of making a sensible decision to secure her happiness.

Novels by Rosemary Morris

Early 18th Century novels: Tangled Love, Far Beyond Rubies, The Captain and The Countess

Regency Novels: False Pretences, Sunday’s Child, Monday’s Child, Tuesday’s Child, Wednesday’s Child and Thursday’s Child. Friday’s Child to be published in June 2019.

Mediaeval Novel: Yvonne Lady of Cassio (The Lovages of Cassio Book One)

Available as e-books and print books from: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Books We Love, Kobo, Smashwords and other reputable retailers.